I’m so slack!

So…I'm still not on top of blogging yet.  As you can tell, I haven't posted for a while. That either means I've been extremely busy and or I have nothing to say. I'll leave you to decide!

Many of you who click through to my blog will most likely be readers over at Tam's blog too, and may have seen that Tam's been encouraging us to make changes for the better. Changes regarding health, fitness, eating habits, etc.  It's been encouraging to see that I'm not the only person going through this process at the moment!

For a long while now, I've been growing increasingly unhappy with my general overall health & fitness, and so 3 weeks ago I made a big decision.  I've joined a weight-loss program. Well actually, I've joined TWO 🙂

The first one is a program that my parents have been on for the past 18 months. My mum has managed to lose over 30kg, and in doing so has also gone from a size 20+ to a size 10.  She actually got her first pair of size 10 jeans the other day.

The second one is a program we're running at our young adults ministry – we're calling it "Minimize Me".  It's really an accountability/mutual encouragement group, with the added bonus of a competition.  It's girls v guys, and we'll be having monthly weigh ins (based on percentage lost, not actual weight).  I really think us girls will kick it, as we have some girls on the team who've already lost STACKS of weight (done properly) who will be "training" us.  We have an eating plan (which I'm not doing, because of my program #1), an exercise routine we do every day, plus we're going to be training together on saturdays.  It's going for 3 months, so it will be interesting to see the results at the end!

So far I haven't lost as much as I'd have liked, but then again, I'd rather lose it slowly and keep it off, than lose it fast and put it all back on again.  I'm well-aware this is a long-term project.

Hmm….what else have I been doing…?

At work at the moment I'm doing my job, plus covering for the receptionist, who resigned a month ago. So that's got me pretty busy – I'm pretty much brain-dead by the time I get home.

Oh – I went and saw INCEPTION for a friend's birthday last week. WOW.  Incredible.  But i'm totally blaming that movie for the bizarre dream I had a couple of nights later.

And, my flatmate decided that we need some guinea pigs, so now we have 2.  Apparently her kids will be looking after all the cleaning etc.  And for any of my Peruvian friends, NO, they're not for eating. 

Tonight we're FINALLY signing a lease for our house.  I can't believe it's taken so long.  What a drama.  Which means, we're now planning a MASSIVE house-warming party, which will be followed by my MASSIVE birthday party….

Finally, if you haven't read Pete Wilson's book "Plan B", you need to run out to your nearest place that sells it, and get yourself a copy.

2 thoughts on “I’m so slack!

  1. Prudence

    Good for you. I’ve been reformatting myself on my health also. Trying to eat much better (almost wrote butter, that would be bad) and hoping to join a gym soon.

    Reply
  2. Paula Boardman

    I’m contemplating joining a gym…I’m looking into the Curves option. A few of my friends have had good results there…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

