10,000

So this post is technically my 10,000th tweet.  Yeah, I know, that's cheating.  But I wanted it to be more than my normal pithy 140 characters 🙂
 
We had a guest preacher at Church this weekend (Pastor Rick Lorimer, from Lincoln, Nebraska), and what he shared with us was amazing.  But during the second service in the morning, God started talking to me about something different. Maybe it was sparked by something Ps Rick said, maybe not.
 
A lyric from a song written by Tommy Walker; made very popular by Israel & New Breed popped into my head during the preaching. The song is "He Knows My Name", here are the lyrics:
I have a Maker
He formed my heart
Before even time began
My life was in his hands

I have a Father
He calls me His own
He'll never leave me
No matter where I go

He knows my name
He knows my every thought
He sees each tear that falls
And He hears me when I call

The specific lyric that landed in my head was:
He knows my name
He knows my every thought
Normally, these two things are considered something comforting and reassuring. That even though there are currently 6 or so billion people on the planet right now, and who knows how many people have existed, God still knows our names, and even our thoughts.
 
But my pondering went in the other direction.  How many times growing up did you do something wrong, only to be found out – and CALLED out – by your parents?  My parents definitely knew my name.  They used it to express love, to draw my attention, and even, when correction was needed.
If a lot of correction was required, they may have used all 3 of my names 🙂  (not that this happened….much).
 
And have you really considered the next line?  God knows our every thought. Not just our nice, pleasant ones.  He knows those horrible things we think toward someone who's hurt us.  He knows the anger and hostility we hide behind our pleasant smile and pretty words.  God even knows what we really want to say when we censor our language.
 
God knows my name.  I can't hide when God calls me by name.  He knows my thoughts. I can't hide anonymously.
 
It's so easy to come to God when He's calling your name in an expression of love, or even to draw your attention to something.  But do you still come quickly when you know it's time for correction?
 
 
 
 
I know this is a heavy post for my "light-hearted 10,000th tweet", but this is what God has placed on my heart, and I needed to share 🙂
 
One thought on “10,000

Leave a Reply

