2 years ago today….

I was wandering along South Bank, not quite believing that I was really in London.  I had always wanted to visit “the Motherland”, and 2 years ago, the stars aligned in such a way that I was able to go – and able to spend an entire month in the UK.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Many friends couldn’t believe that I was excited to do this trip on my own.  I couldn’t understand why that would be a problem! I could set my own pace, see whatever I wanted whenever I wanted, and if I made myself late for something, it was completely my fault 🙂

During my month in the UK, I spent about half of it with friends – old AND new.  Friends that I’d only met via social media had helped me plan this trip – and some even opened their homes up for me.  One friend, to whom I will be forever grateful, arranged accommodation for me with friends of his, when all I had asked was a hotel recommendation.

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

This trip really was a watershed moment in my life – for many, many reasons – some I’m well aware of, others I’m still discovering.

It’s surreal that this trip was 2 whole years ago.  It feels like it was just yesterday that I was:

  • climbing all over the Giant’s Causeway
  • wandering around London watching film crews filming “Skyfall”
  • accidentally (yes, accidentally) ending up at Buckingham Palace
  • racing around Dublin with an amazing friend and standing slack-jawed in front of the General Post Office (you have NO IDEA how excited I was)
  • visiting monastic ruins that are insanely old
  • I learned how to pull a pint of Guinness at the Guinness Storehouse
  • I drank my first pint of Guinness at the Guinness storehouse. (I also managed to fall off my stool.  But that’s another story).
  • vising the home of Anne Boleyn (the DOOR to the building is over 300 years old!)
  • nerding out over seeing Doctor Who/Torchwood/Gavin & Stacey sites in “real life”
  • racing through the Louvre (and laughing my head off at sassy sculptures)
  • accidentally (again, yes) ending up standing in front of Van Gogh’s “Sunflowers”
  • on a desert safari in Dubai with 100 US Navy Sailors (to say that was FUN would be an understatement)

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

 

 

 

 

April will forever be for me, the month I spent in the UK.  It was amazing how “at home” I felt – perhaps that’s because of how I was raised, perhaps it’s just me; so many of my friends tell me that I’m “more British than Australian” (still not sure how that works).  All I know is that I’d be back there in a heartbeat if I could be.  So until I get another chance to visit “the Motherland”, my memories will just have to keep me company.

ImageImage

Leave a Reply

